If Trees Fall in a Forest

I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep. ~Robert Frost

I remember when it hit me. It was the middle of the night, just about 48 hours after my son was born. We were still in the hospital and I woke up from what felt like 3 minutes of sleep although it had been more like 90. This meant my son was due to nurse. As much as I desperately wished I could close my eyes again, it was time to get up, turn on the lights, pick up by newborn, strip him down to his diaper for that skin-to-skin contact and begin breastfeeding him. It would be at least an hour before I could shut my eyes again and get another 90 minutes. That is when it dawned on me. “I’m never going to sleep, ever again.”

A deep desperation came over me. I love sleep…

View original post 669 more words

