Pass the Health: Plant a Garden, Harvest Health

#garden

COACH STACY'S HEALTHY U

Several years ago I decided to plant a back yard garden.  Nothing fancy or particularly ornate – just a few vegetables – tomatoes, zucchini, squash, spinach and lettuce.  I threw in a few pumpkin seeds and sunflowers for good measure and off to the side, a bed of wildflowers for color.  I was in the throes of a simplification phase back then, consciously looking for ways to reduce my footprint and uncomplicate my life.  Spending more time outdoors and growing my own produce seemed like steps in the right direction. 

What I didn’t anticipate was the enthusiasm with which my dogs would embrace my gardening endeavor which evolved into a five month ritual of monkey-see, monkey-do.  I’d spend the morning digging rows with spade and hoe; my Lab would follow, excavating random garden craters with her massive forepaws.  Afternoons spent pulling bindweed and purslane were outdone by my German Short-Haired…

View original post 641 more words

